## Announcement for Award Competitions at the Joint Meeting of IACS-North American and European Sections in Banja, Vrnjacka, Serbia (September 11-14, 2019)

## I. Students and Young Investigator Awards:

Graduate Students, Postdoctoral Fellows (PhD or MD) and Young Investigators (Within 10 years of post-graduate degree) are encouraged to submit Abstracts for Poster or Oral Presentation by July 15, 2019 to Dr. Dragan Djuric (Email:<a href="mailto:drdjuric@eunet.rs">drdjuric@eunet.rs</a> or <a href="mailto:drdjuric@eunet.rs">dr\_djuric@eunet.rs</a> or <a href="mailto:drdjuric@eunet.rs">dr\_dluric@eunet.rs</a> or <a href="mailto:drdjuric@eunet.rs">dr\_dluric@eun

Abstracts must be accompanied by a Registration Fee (100 Euros for Students and 150 Euros for others)Registration Fee includes a reception, 3 lunches, 2 dinners, coffee breaks and local transport. Accepted Abstracts will be printed in the Program Book and the authors will be notified for poster or oral presentations.

- **A. Poster Award Competitions:** All posters will be evaluated by 4 different committees (3 judges in each committee) for the following 12 Poster Awards:
  - 1. Morris Karmazyn Poster Awards 4
  - 2. Margaret Moffat Poster Awards 4
  - 3. Karl WerdanPoster Awards 2
  - 4. KeldKjeldsen Poster Awards − 2

(Each A wardee will receive a certificate and 350 Euros)

- **B. Gary Lopaschuk Student Award Competition:** Nominations or Applications from Graduate Students are invited for the Gary Lopaschuk Awards Competition. Each Student should submit one-page CV along with a copy of the Abstract for the meeting to Dr. András Varró in Szeged(Email: <a href="mailto:a.varro@phcol.szote.u-szeged.hu">a.varro@phcol.szote.u-szeged.hu</a>) by July 15, 2019. Four students will be selected for competition and notified for oral presentations instead of poster presentations. Each selected students will be given 550 Euros to reimbursethe cost of their registration and accommodation. Each presentation (15 min talk & 5 min discussion) will be evaluated by a panel of 3 judges and the winner will be given 500 Euros Award and a certificate at the Awards ceremony.
- C. Roberto Bolli Young Investigator Award Competition: Nominations or Applications from Postdoctoral Fellows (PhD or MD) and Young Investigators are invited for the Roberto Bolli Awards Competition. Each individuals should submit a brief CV along with a copy of the Abstract for the meeting to Gary Lopaschuk in Edmonton (Email: <a href="mailto:glopasch@ualberta.ca">glopasch@ualberta.ca</a>) by July 15, 2019. Four candidates will be selected for competition and notified for oral presentations instead of poster presentation. Each selected individual for competition will be given 550 Euros to reimburse the cost of their registration and accommodation. Each presentation (15 min talk & 5 min discussion) will be evaluated by a panel of 3 judges and the winner will be given 500 Euros Award and a certificate at the Awards Ceremony.

- **D.** Canadian Journal of Physiology and Pharmacology Young Investigator Award Competition: Nomination or Applications from Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows are invited for the Canadian Journal of Physiology and Pharmacology Award. Each applicant should submit one page CV along with a copy of the abstract for meeting to Dr. BohuslavOstadalinPrague (Email: ostadal@biomed.cas.cz) by July 15, 2019. Four candidates will be selected for competition and notified for oral presentations instead of poster presentations. Each selected applicant will be given 550 Euros to reimburse the cost of their registration and accommodation. Each presentation (15 min talk & 5 min discussion) will be evaluated by a panel of 3 judges and the winner will be given 500 Euros Award and a certificate at the Awards Ceremony.
- **E. St. Boniface Hospital Albrechtsen Research Centre Travel Awards:** Travel Awards in the amount of 320 Euros each are available to ten graduate students from North America for participating in the 2019 Serbia Meeting. Applications with one page CV and a copy of the Abstract for presentation in the poster competition may be sent to Dr. Michael Czubryt in Winnipeg (Email: <a href="MCzubryt@sbrc.ca">MCzubryt@sbrc.ca</a>) by July 15, 2019. Each applicant will be notified and the award and a certificate can be collected at the Registration Desk.
- **F. Reviews in Cardiovascular Medicine Travel Awards:** Travel Awards in the amount of 300 Euros each are available to 10 graduate students and postdoctoral fellows from Europe for participating in the Serbia Meeting. Applications with one page CV and a copy of the Abstract for presentation in the poster competition may be sent to Dr. IstvanBaczko in Szeged (Email: <a href="mailto:baczko.istvan@med.u-szeged.hu">baczko.istvan@med.u-szeged.hu</a>) by July 15, 2019. Each applicant will be notified and the Award and a certificate can be collected at the Registration Desk.

## **Appointment of Judges:**

Four panels of judges (3 in each panel) for **Poster Award** competitions will be appointed by Prof.Vladimir L. Jakovljevic and three panels of judges (3 in each panels) will be appointed by Prof.Dragan Djuric for evaluating the oral presentations. One person in each panel will serve as a chair and will be responsible for notifying the names of poster Awards winners to Prof. Vladimir L. Jakovljevic and the names of the **Oral Competition Award Winners** to Prof. Dragan Djuric soon after completion of their assessments. These names will be kept confidential and will be announced at the Awards Ceremony.

## II. Honours and Awards for Established Investigators:

While the IACS-European Section will reorganize one high profile investigator with Naranjan Dhalla Honorary Lecture Medal at the Opening Ceremony of the conference, the Academy will bestow eleven honours and awards upon senior scientists at the Awards

Ceremony. These recognitions include BohuslavOstadal Award, Jan Slezak Award, Howard Morgan Award, Norman Alpert Award, James Willerson Award, Grant Pierce Award, Dennis McNamaraAward, Life-time Achievement Award, Distinguished Leadership Award and Distinguished Service Award. The individuals receiving these Academy recognitions will be selected from the invited speakers at this conference by the Members of the Executive Council of the Academy